Oro-maxillofacial and Plastic Surgery

mri

Knowledge creates healing

Dental Implants

Dental implants are artificial dental roots made of titanium or more rarely of ceramic material. Both types of material have proved to be efficient in medicine, as well as being biologically ideal to integrate. The clinic has over 20 years of extensive experience with various implant systems.  

Implants are of great value in the prosthetic rehabilitation of the chewing apparatus, and are even indispensable in some cases. According to indication, a lasting dental prosthesis can be more securely fixed ( e.g. in the case of total prosthesis) using implants, or a removable partial prosthesis can be avoided (eg. in the case of so-called free end gaps). If the neighbouring teeth are more or less free of caries, the grinding of neighbouring teeth to attach a conventional bridge can be avoided, using individual implants (Pictures 1 and 2).  

The implantation itself is in most cases a small surgical intervention which is carried out under local anaesthetic. However sufficient bone structure must be available in order to anchor the implants functionally and securely in the long run. Accordingly, strengthening of the bone substance (so-called augmentation) can sometimes be necessary. This is carried out in the clinic under local anaesthetic or if required under general anaesthetic, with the body’s own bone, or other suitable material.

As mentioned earlier on, dental implants are used for later prosthetics. Accordingly, exact planning of dental prosthetics is important prior to implantation. As a result the extent of bone augmentation required is clear. Whether you are suited to implants and the measures to be carried out must be determined in individual talks.  

For the field of dental implants a special clinic is available at the policlinic (Langerstraße 3, 81675 München; Wednesday 12.30 – 14.00;  private patients should report to the secretariat of Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. K.-D. Wolff). The examiniation and consultation are carried out by doctors with many years of experience in dental implantology.

RTEmagicC_zahn_impl1.jpg

Picture 1: Single tooth implant

RTEmagicC_b_Einzelzahnimplantat.jpg

Picture 2: Single tooth implant with crown

Mund- Kiefer- Gesichtschirurgie

mri

Wissen schafft Heilung

Zahnärztliche Implantate

Zahnärztliche Implantate sind künstliche Zahnwurzeln, die aus Titan oder seltener einer Keramik hergestellt werden. Beide Materialgruppen haben sich in der Medizin als zuverlässig und biologisch bestens integrierbar erwiesen. An der Klinik bestehen seit über 20 Jahren umfangreiche Erfahrungen mit unterschiedlichen Implantatsystemen.

In der prothetischen Rehabilitation des Kauorgans stellen Implantate ein wertvolles Hilfsmittel dar und sind in vielen Fällen sogar unverzichtbar. Je nach Indikation ist mit Implantaten ein bestehender Zahnersatz im Munde stabiler zu verankern (z. B. bei Totalprothesen) oder ein herausnehmbarer Teilersatz zu vermeiden (z. B. bei sog. Freiendlücken). Sind die Nachbarzähne weitgehend kariesfrei, kann mit Hilfe von Einzelzahnimplantaten das Beschleifen der Nachbarzähne zur Aufnahme einer konventionellen Brücke vermieden werden (Abb. 1 und 2).

Die Implantation selbst ist in den meisten Fällen ein kleinerer chirurgischer Eingriff, der in örtlicher Betäubung (Lokalanästhesie) durchgeführt wird. Allerdings ist ein ausreichendes Knochenangebot erforderlich, um die Implantate langfristig funktionssicher zu verankern. Dementsprechend können Verstärkungen des Knochenlagers (sog. Augmentationen) erforderlich sein. Diese werden an der Klinik in örtlicher Betäubung oder bei Bedarf in Vollnarkose mit Eigenknochen oder geeigneten Ersatzmaterialien durchgeführt.

Wie eingangs angedeutet, dienen dentale Implantate der späteren Prothetik. Somit ist vor der Implantation eine genaue Planung des Zahnersatzes wichtig. Daraus ergibt sich auch, ob und in welchem Umfang Knochenaugmentationen erforderlich sind. Daher ist nur in individuellen Gesprächen zu klären, ob für Sie Implantate geeignet sind und welche Maßnahmen im Einzelnen zu treffen sind.

Für den Bereich der dentalen Implantate wird in der Poliklinik eine spezielle Sprechstunde angeboten (Langerstraße 3, 81675 München; Mittwoch 12.30-14.00 Uhr; Privatpatientenanmeldung über das Sekretariat von Herrn Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. K.-D. Wolff). Die Untersuchung und Beratung wird von Behandlern vorgenommen, die über lange Jahre Erfahrung in der dentalen Implantologie verfügen.

RTEmagicC_zahn_impl1.jpg

Abb. 1: Einzelzahnimplantat unversorgt

RTEmagicC_b_Einzelzahnimplantat.jpg

Abb. 2: Einzelzahnimplantat versorgt