Oro-maxillofacial and Plastic Surgery

mri

Knowledge creates healing

Traumatology

In medicine, the word trauma is used to describe damage, injury or wound caused by external force. The treatment of facial injuries is one of the foundation pillars of oro-maxillofacial surgery. The regular, intensive confrontation with this field, for historical reasons due to the two world wars, has predestined our specialist subject to a team of experts. However a differentiation must be made between injuries limited to soft tissue and those where the bone is involved (fractures). Our goal when treating wounds is always to finish with minimal scarring.  

Adequate primary treatment of small and larger injuries is of major importance for perfect aesthetic results. If immediate adequate treatment does not take place, a secondary, far more extensive correction is required. If a facial-cranial fracture is suspected, we have modern diagnostic and/or imaging methods to confirm and/or clarify the diagnosis. The modern section diagram method (computer tomography and nuclear spin tomography) with different fields of application are always available to clarify a suspected treatment indication. Depending on the severity and localisation of the fractures, immediate treatment is advisable, or as in some case – for example in the area round the bony orbita –  delayed treatment, to await reduction of swelling. In the case of extensive bone injuries the fractures must be set, taking  a cosmetically inconspicuous approach, and stabilized with metal plates or platelets until healed.  

In order to achieve best possible cosmetic end results, the so-called skin tension lines are always taken into consideration. It is also often possible to have cicatrices which are invisible from the outside, using an approach through the mouth. For this we use endoscopic procedures. The most common facial-cranial fracture is that of the zygomatic bone (cheekbone), often accompanied by the orbital floor. This exposed face bone is at risk during sport or bicycle accidents. The same thing applies to impact injuries to the chin, which can lead to a variety of lower jaw fractures, often multiple. The reconstruction of the foundation pillars of the facial skull plays a major role in the treatment of extensive, multiple fractures, thus guaranteeing the ensuing stability. This is often only possible after adjustment of the existing, regular bite, also called occlusion. Fractures of the facial skull are nearly always treated with titanium plates, and we advocate their removal after a certain period of time.  

The Klinikum rechts der Isar is a nationwide address for polytraumata (especially severe injuries caused by accidents). The smooth and excellent collaboration with neighbouring specialist departments also involved in the treatment is constantly proving its value: an experienced team is at hand, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

RTEmagicC_trauma_1.jpg

Picture 1: Skull model, with various titanium osteosynthesis plates, which are regularly used for fractures in the facial skull region. 

RTEmagicC_trauma2_01.JPG

Picture 2. This computer tomography image shows a cross-section of the skull, with a displaced fracture of the frontal sinus wall.  

RTEmagicC_trauma3_01.JPG

Picture 3: This post-operative x-ray picture controls the position of the osteosynthesis plates in the forehead, after the correct alignment of the fracture.  

RTEmagicC_trauma4_01.JPG

Picture 4: Double fracture of the lower jaw, with fractures next to the middle of the jaw and on the left (not easy to see) in the angle of the jaw, by the wisdom tooth which has not yet broken through. A molar destroyed by caries is also visible on the right hand part of the lower jaw.

RTEmagicC_trauma5_01.JPG

Picture 5: Situation after osteosynthetic treatment of the fractures, using a linea-obliqua plate on the left, and 2 mini plates on the right. The perfect bite was adjusted and secured using an upper and lower occlusal splint. The wisdom tooth which has not yet broken through on the left of the fracture was left for stability reasons until the metal plates are removed, the carious molar on the right was extracted.

Mund- Kiefer- Gesichtschirurgie

mri

Wissen schafft Heilung

Traumatologie

Als Trauma bezeichnet man in der Medizin eine durch äußere Gewalt bedingte Schädigung, Verletzung oder Wunde. Die Behandlung von Gesichtsverletzungen stellt einen der Grundpfeiler der Mund-Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie dar. Die MKG als eigenständige Disziplin entwickelte sich aus der Notwendigkeit der Versorgung komplexer Gesichtsverletzungen während des ersten Weltkrieges. Der regelmäßige intensive Umgang mit diesem Teilgebiet prädestiniert unsere Fachdisziplin zu einem Expertenteam. Dabei muss man Verletzungen, die auf das Weichgewebe begrenzt sind von denen mit Beteiligung des Knochens (=Frakturen) unterscheiden. Ziel unserer Wundbehandlung im Gesicht ist immer eine kleinstmögliche Narbenbildung.

Eine adäquate Primärversorgung von kleinen und großen Wunden ist entscheidend für ein optimales ästhetisches Ergebnis. Bei Ausbleiben einer sofortigen adäquaten Versorgung ist eine sekundäre, wesentlich aufwändigere Korrektur notwendig. Besteht der klinische Verdacht auf eine Gesichtsschädelfraktur, stehen uns moderne diagnostische bzw. bildgebende Verfahren zur Bestätigung bzw. zur Klärung zur Verfügung. Insbesondere mit den modernen Schnittbildverfahren (Computertomographie und Kernspintomographie) und ihren unterschiedlichen Einsatzbereichen sind wir in der Lage, die Indikation und Art der Therapie genau festzulegen. Je nach Schweregrad und Lokalisation der Frakturen empfiehlt sich ein sofortiges Vorgehen oder in manchen Fällen – beispielsweise im Bereich der knöchernen Augenhöhle – ein verzögertes Handeln, um eine Abschwellung abzuwarten. Bei ausgedehnten knöchernen Verletzungen muss man über ausgewählte, ästhetisch unauffällige Zugänge die jeweiligen Frakturen reponieren und mit Metallplatten bzw. -plättchen bis zur Heilung stabilisieren.

Zur Erzielung eines optimalen Ergebnisses finden hierbei immer die so genannten Hautspannungslinien Beachtung. Oft besteht auch die Möglichkeit, durch einen Zugang über die Mundhöhle eine äußere Schnittführung zu vermeiden. Hierbei setzen wir auch endoskopische Verfahren ein. Die häufigste Gesichtsschädelfraktur ist die des Jochbeines, also des Wangenknochens, die häufig mit der des Augenhöhlenbodens einhergeht. Bei sämtlichen Stürzen im Rahmen von Sport- wie auch bei Fahrradunfällen ist dieser exponierte Gesichtsknochen gefährdet. Das gleiche gilt für einen Aufprall auf die Kinnregion, wodurch es zu unterschiedlichen, teilweise mehrfachen Unterkieferbrüchen kommen kann. Einen zentralen Anteil an der Behandlung ausgedehnter, multipler Frakturen hat die Wiederherstellung der Stützpfeiler im Gesichtschädel, wodurch die anschließende Übungsstabilität gewährleistet wird. Dies ist oft nur unter Wiederherstellung des vorbestehenden, regelrechten Bisses, welcher auch als Okklusion bezeichnet wird, möglich. Fast ausschließlich werden Brüche des Gesichtsschädels mit kleinen Titanplatten versorgt, deren Entfernung wir nach einer gewissen Zeit anraten.

Das Klinikum rechts der Isar ist ein überregionales Zentrum für Polytraumen (besonders schwere, unfallbedingte Verletzungen). Die reibungslos eingespielte, gute Zusammenarbeit mit den benachbarten Fachabteilungen, die ebenfalls an der Behandlung beteiligt sind, hat sich zum Nutzen unserer Patienten sehr bewährt. 24 Stunden am Tag steht an 365 Tagen im Jahr ein erfahrenes Behandlerteam zur Verfügung.

RTEmagicC_trauma_1.jpg

Abb. 1: Schädelmodell mit unterschiedlichen Osteosynthesplatten aus Titan, die regelmäßig bei Frakturen im Gesichtsschädelbereich eingesetzt werden.

RTEmagicC_trauma2_01.JPG

Abb. 2: Diese computertomographische Aufnahme zeigt einen Querschnitt durch den Schädel mit einem verschobenen Bruch der Stirnhöhlenvorderwand.

RTEmagicC_trauma3_01.JPG

Abb. 3: Die postoperative Röntgenaufnahme kontrolliert die Position der Osteosyntheseplatten an der Stirn nach der korrekten Einstellung der Fraktur.

RTEmagicC_trauma4_01.JPG

Abb. 4: Doppelter Unterkieferbruch mit Brüchen rechts neben der Kiefermitte und links (schwieriger zu sehen) im Kieferwinkel direkt am nicht durchgebrochenen Weisheitszahn. Weiterhin sieht man einen kariös zerstörten Backenzahn im rechten Unterkieferanteil.

RTEmagicC_trauma5_01.JPG

Abb. 5: Zustand nach osteosynthetischer Versorgung der Brüche mit Hilfe einer Linea-obliqua-Platte links und zwei Miniplatten rechts. Der perfekte Biss wurde dabei über eine eingebrachte Ober- und Unterkieferschienung eingestellt und gesichert. Der nicht durchgebrochene Weisheitszahn an der Fraktur links wurde aus Stabilitätsgründen bis zur Metallentfernung belassen, der kariöse Backenzahn rechts entfernt.